prosciutto & egg cups

Whoever invented the concept of weekend brunch is up there with Taylor Swift and Blair Waldorf on my list of personal heroes. It’s hands down my favorite meal–you can opt for a sweet or savory dish (or both) and more often than not it involves best friends and mimosas. What’s not to love?! Last weekend Em and I decided to mix it up a little bit and cook Sunday brunch at home. It was amazing. She pioneered some incredible scones for the sweet element of my favorite meal, while I was in charge of the savory portion.  I decided to attempt my own version of some ham and egg cups discovered on Pinterest. They were absolutely delightful and super cute! This egg dish was perfect for just the two of us but it would also be easy to prepare for a larger brunch party, like the ones Em and I plan on hosting once we can comfortably fit more than 5 people in our apartment. Recipe below!

photo 4

Sunday Brunch in Apartment #2

Baked Prosciutto & Egg Cups

serves twoIngredients

ingredients :

  • 4 eggs at room temperature
  • 4 wide slices of prosciutto
  • 2 tablespoons scallions, chopped
  • Parmesan cheese
  • black pepper
  • crushed red pepper flakes

instructions:

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees Fahrenheit.photo 2

2. Spray muffin tin with non-stick spray and line each with a slice of prosciutto. (I folded them in a cone shape and then molded it to the cups. You’ll get the hang of it!)

3. Crack an egg in a small bowl, then pour one into each of your cute little prosciutto cups!

4. Season with black pepper and add a few crushed red pepper flakes if you like it with a bit of a kick.

5. Bake in oven for about 10 mins or until the whites are becoming opaque. photo 3

6. Remove for a moment to sprinkle with chopped scallions and Parmesan cheese and replace.

7. Bake for about 2 more minutes, or until the cheese is melted and whites are opaque but yolks are still runny and delicious. Scoop out onto plates and devour while hot!

This recipe was super simple but looks pretty fancy and gourmet, if I do say so myself. I can’t wait to make these again!

xo,

a


Leave a comment